MOZART & NIELSEN Clarinet Concertos

“Bliss responds to the work's mercurial switches of mood with a wide range of colour and articulation, and meets its considerable technical challenges with seemingly offhand virtuosity. He is well matched by the seasoned Mario Venzago and the players of the Royal Northern Sinfonia.” --BBC Music Magazine, Christmas 2014 ****

“Nielsen’s elaborate figuration seems to hold no fears for Bliss, whose articulation is as nimble as his fingers…Phrasing is fresh from both soloist and orchestra throughout.” --International Record Review, January 2015

Julian Bliss (clarinet)

Royal Northern Sinfonia, Mario Venzago

Julian Bliss performs the Clarinet Concertos of Mozart and Nielsen – often thought of as the two greatest such works in the repertoire for the instrument and pinnacles of the clarinet repertoire, as twin examples of what can be achieved by composers who have been truly inspired to write for the clarinet, using its uniquely expressive qualities to produce enduring and comprehensively masterly compositions. Alongside these Julian Bliss presents two of his own clarinet arrangements of two Mozart arias, 'Der Liebe himmlisches Gefühl', K119 and 'Non che non sei capace', K419.

No comments:

Post a Comment