RACHMANINOV Piano Concertos Nos. 2 & 3

“Exultantly phrased, expertly articulated an expansively engineered, these deeply felt, supremely natural readings mark out Canadian Stewart Goodyear as a first-rate Rachmaninovian.” --BBC Music Magazine, August 2015 *****

“[Goodyear's] exceotional vigour and impetus in the opening of the Second is a refreshing alternative to other more extreme views…rising above attention-seeking gestures, his directness and mastery would surely have won the composer's approval, even prompting a smile to cross that famously dour countenance.” --Gramophone Magazine, August 2015

Stewart Goodyear (piano)

Czech National Symphony Orchestra, Heiko Mathias Forster

Stewart Goodyear's second release on Steinway & Sons is a follow-up to his acclaimed 2014 release of the Tchaikovsky and Grieg Piano Concertos.

The Canadian pianist is a notable concert soloist and has performed with the New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Philadelphia Orchestra, among many others.

In 2013, Stewart Goodyear gave a series of marathon performances in the US of the complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas, performing the complete cycle in a single, eleven-hour performance at each venue.

No comments:

Post a Comment